Logo AND Algorithmique Numérique Distribuée

Public GIT Repository
simgrid.git
2 years agoUpdate .mailmap file.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 9 Jan 2018 15:01:51 +0000 (16:01 +0100)]
Update .mailmap file.

2 years ago[S4U] Add onCreation signal to the actor API
Christian Heinrich [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 15:19:07 +0000 (16:19 +0100)]
[S4U] Add onCreation signal to the actor API

2 years ago[TESH] Use platfdir variable in coll-alltoall/clusters.tesh
Christian Heinrich [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 23:22:42 +0000 (00:22 +0100)]
[TESH] Use platfdir variable in coll-alltoall/clusters.tesh

2 years ago[SMPI] Replace SIMIX_process_from_PID with S4U equivalent
Christian Heinrich [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 23:03:20 +0000 (00:03 +0100)]
[SMPI] Replace SIMIX_process_from_PID with S4U equivalent

2 years agouse enum class for cluster topology
Frederic Suter [Fri, 12 Jan 2018 09:18:55 +0000 (10:18 +0100)]
use enum class for cluster topology

2 years agoone more class in platform creation
Frederic Suter [Fri, 12 Jan 2018 09:05:37 +0000 (10:05 +0100)]
one more class in platform creation

2 years agokill dead code
Frederic Suter [Fri, 12 Jan 2018 08:29:46 +0000 (09:29 +0100)]
kill dead code

2 years agoplease Sonar
Frederic Suter [Fri, 12 Jan 2018 08:19:35 +0000 (09:19 +0100)]
please Sonar

2 years ago[SMPI] Spelling.
Christian Heinrich [Tue, 19 Dec 2017 14:28:45 +0000 (15:28 +0100)]
[SMPI] Spelling.

2 years ago[SMPI] Declare loop variable within the loop.
Christian Heinrich [Tue, 19 Dec 2017 14:20:28 +0000 (15:20 +0100)]
[SMPI] Declare loop variable within the loop.

Compilers will get this.

2 years ago[SMPI] Remove local variable sz in smpi_group.cpp
Christian Heinrich [Fri, 15 Dec 2017 13:47:55 +0000 (14:47 +0100)]
[SMPI] Remove local variable sz in smpi_group.cpp

We already tested before if size_ != group2->size() -- and since
sz = group2->size(), we have here size_ == sz. So just use size_.

2 years ago[SMPI] Rename variable bar -> barrier
Christian Heinrich [Thu, 7 Dec 2017 09:26:12 +0000 (10:26 +0100)]
[SMPI] Rename variable bar -> barrier

bar sounds more like foo/bar

2 years ago[SMPI] Use variable instead of 3 calls to the same function
Christian Heinrich [Thu, 7 Dec 2017 09:24:37 +0000 (10:24 +0100)]
[SMPI] Use variable instead of 3 calls to the same function

2 years ago[SMPI] Remove wrong comments on functions
Christian Heinrich [Wed, 6 Dec 2017 13:35:46 +0000 (14:35 +0100)]
[SMPI] Remove wrong comments on functions

2 years ago[SMPI] Fixed grammar in comment
Christian Heinrich [Wed, 6 Dec 2017 12:46:58 +0000 (13:46 +0100)]
[SMPI] Fixed grammar in comment

2 years ago[SMPI] Added doc block for smpi_backup_global_memory_segment()
Christian Heinrich [Wed, 6 Dec 2017 12:43:22 +0000 (13:43 +0100)]
[SMPI] Added doc block for smpi_backup_global_memory_segment()

2 years ago[SMPI] Use xbt_die() instead of printf & exit
Christian Heinrich [Wed, 6 Dec 2017 12:16:13 +0000 (13:16 +0100)]
[SMPI] Use xbt_die() instead of printf & exit

2 years ago[CMAKE] Copy the file hostfile_cluster to build-dir.
Christian Heinrich [Wed, 10 Jan 2018 16:08:24 +0000 (17:08 +0100)]
[CMAKE] Copy the file hostfile_cluster to build-dir.

2 years ago[CMAKE] Add srcdir, bindir and platfdir variables for more smpi tests
Christian Heinrich [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 21:19:47 +0000 (22:19 +0100)]
[CMAKE] Add srcdir, bindir and platfdir variables for more smpi tests

2 years ago[CMAKE/TESH] Make the platfdir variable available to all SMPI tests
Christian Heinrich [Wed, 10 Jan 2018 16:01:10 +0000 (17:01 +0100)]
[CMAKE/TESH] Make the platfdir variable available to all SMPI tests

This has been long overdue. Tests still need to be adapted
but platforms can be referred to as, e.g., /cluster.xml

2 years agorefactoring and cosmetics
Frederic Suter [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 14:48:46 +0000 (15:48 +0100)]
refactoring and cosmetics

2 years agouse class and enum class in Actor parsing
Frederic Suter [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 14:14:33 +0000 (15:14 +0100)]
use class and enum class in Actor parsing

2 years agouse enum class for trace connect kind
Frederic Suter [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 13:55:06 +0000 (14:55 +0100)]
use enum class for trace connect kind

2 years agoMessing up with VM
Frederic Suter [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 12:40:24 +0000 (13:40 +0100)]
Messing up with VM
 - move VM tracing to S4U
 - move last functions related to migration to the plugin
    - MSG_vm_create is now MSG_vm_create_migratable and tagged
      as DEPRECATED (will be removed in 3.21)
    - Assume that the live migration plugin is always loaded in JAVA
      (because all VMs are create with MSG_vm_create there)
 - add a proper destroy function to S4U VMs (shutdown first, then
   destroy)
 - pimpl_vm_ is now private (with getImpl() as accessor)
    - and use the user level interface as much as possible

Conclusion: The MSG_vm interface is now just a dummy wrapper on the
S4U interface and live migration is fully isolated in a plugin. Only
the is_migrating bool remains in VirtualMachineImpl, but is not (and
should not be) accessed or modified from outside the plugin. We can live
with that.

2 years agoconvert cloud-migration example
Frederic Suter [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 09:07:55 +0000 (10:07 +0100)]
convert cloud-migration example

2 years agofix 32bit
Frederic Suter [Wed, 10 Jan 2018 11:33:01 +0000 (12:33 +0100)]
fix 32bit

2 years agoconvert kademlia example to s4u
Frederic Suter [Wed, 10 Jan 2018 11:07:33 +0000 (12:07 +0100)]
convert kademlia example to s4u

2 years agoSlight cleanup after removal of xbt_dict_new().
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 9 Jan 2018 12:40:49 +0000 (13:40 +0100)]
Slight cleanup after removal of xbt_dict_new().

2 years agoKill features marked deprecated until v3.19.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 9 Jan 2018 12:25:34 +0000 (13:25 +0100)]
Kill features marked deprecated until v3.19.

2 years agoFix xbt_log_extract_hierarchy.pl (remove check for XBT_LOG_CONNECT).
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 9 Jan 2018 12:11:31 +0000 (13:11 +0100)]
Fix xbt_log_extract_hierarchy.pl (remove check for XBT_LOG_CONNECT).

2 years agoRemove XBT_LOG_CONNECT, it should be useless nowadays.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 9 Jan 2018 11:03:18 +0000 (12:03 +0100)]
Remove XBT_LOG_CONNECT, it should be useless nowadays.

2 years agoAlways enable contructor attribute on log categories.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 9 Jan 2018 10:50:44 +0000 (11:50 +0100)]
Always enable contructor attribute on log categories.

2 years agoRename constructor attribute.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 9 Jan 2018 10:44:18 +0000 (11:44 +0100)]
Rename constructor attribute.

Also drop support for very old compilers, and activate priorities on Mac too
(hoping that it works correctly nowadays).

2 years agoinstall.doc: improve the improvement
Martin Quinson [Tue, 9 Jan 2018 09:29:25 +0000 (10:29 +0100)]
install.doc: improve the improvement

2 years agodoc improvment on cmake options
Martin Quinson [Tue, 9 Jan 2018 07:40:58 +0000 (08:40 +0100)]
doc improvment on cmake options

2 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git+ssh://scm.gforge.inria.fr//gitroot/simgrid/simgrid
Frederic Suter [Mon, 8 Jan 2018 19:21:22 +0000 (20:21 +0100)]
Merge branch 'master' of git+ssh://scm.gforge.inria.fr//gitroot/simgrid/simgrid

2 years agoMerge branch 'master' of scm.gforge.inria.fr:/gitroot/simgrid/simgrid
Martin Quinson [Mon, 8 Jan 2018 16:46:43 +0000 (17:46 +0100)]
Merge branch 'master' of scm.gforge.inria.fr:/gitroot/simgrid/simgrid

2 years agoImprove the doc of MSG_task_*_bounded
Martin Quinson [Mon, 8 Jan 2018 15:16:01 +0000 (16:16 +0100)]
Improve the doc of MSG_task_*_bounded

2 years agosolverstack actually lives on gitlab
Martin Quinson [Mon, 8 Jan 2018 14:21:08 +0000 (15:21 +0100)]
solverstack actually lives on gitlab

2 years agoinstall: small improvements
Martin Quinson [Mon, 8 Jan 2018 10:26:20 +0000 (11:26 +0100)]
install: small improvements

2 years agoavoid xbt_strdup in c++ examples and tests
Frederic Suter [Sat, 30 Dec 2017 15:53:40 +0000 (16:53 +0100)]
avoid xbt_strdup in c++ examples and tests

2 years agoShutdown Engine first, and fix double-free errors.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 28 Dec 2017 17:38:36 +0000 (18:38 +0100)]
Shutdown Engine first, and fix double-free errors.

2 years agoUse new/delete and remove useless cast.
Arnaud Giersch [Wed, 27 Dec 2017 17:24:34 +0000 (18:24 +0100)]
Use new/delete and remove useless cast.

2 years agoReturn 1.0 if the task has not started.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 20:59:37 +0000 (21:59 +0100)]
Return 1.0 if the task has not started.

2 years agoMake messages match the code.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 21:17:57 +0000 (22:17 +0100)]
Make messages match the code.

2 years agoDead assignments.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 21:16:47 +0000 (22:16 +0100)]
Dead assignments.

2 years agoGet the same result with a shorter command.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 17:06:45 +0000 (18:06 +0100)]
Get the same result with a shorter command.

2 years agoAdd .mailmap, to improve git shortlog's output.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 16:45:39 +0000 (17:45 +0100)]
Add .mailmap, to improve git shortlog's output.

2 years agoTypo + kill trailing whitespaces.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 10:42:27 +0000 (11:42 +0100)]
Typo + kill trailing whitespaces.

2 years agosmpi doesn't know void anymore
Frederic Suter [Wed, 27 Dec 2017 00:08:34 +0000 (01:08 +0100)]
smpi doesn't know void anymore

2 years agoremove includes of datatypes.h
Frederic Suter [Wed, 27 Dec 2017 00:02:47 +0000 (01:02 +0100)]
remove includes of datatypes.h

2 years agoget rid of the vm_params struct
Frederic Suter [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 23:29:25 +0000 (00:29 +0100)]
get rid of the vm_params struct
this migration related stuff is now part of the plugin (which grows)
the set/get parameters for VM have thus been removed

some examples have been simplified in the process has they created VM
with useless parameters (no migration)

2 years agoimplement s4u::Comm::test_any() (fix #194)
Martin Quinson [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 23:22:32 +0000 (00:22 +0100)]
implement s4u::Comm::test_any()   (fix #194)

It's not tested, sorry @henricasanova.

2 years agomove the host list into the Engine
Martin Quinson [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 23:05:42 +0000 (00:05 +0100)]
move the host list into the Engine

2 years agoimprove the doc of SMPI privatization (fix #137)
Martin Quinson [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 22:06:06 +0000 (23:06 +0100)]
improve the doc of SMPI privatization (fix #137)

I just kept the bug open for reference until it got correctly
documented, and it's done now. I admit, the full feature solution is
not implemented, but the current one is good enough, and the doc links
to #137 for future reference.

2 years agofix #245: migrating an actor does not migrate its execution
Martin Quinson [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 21:26:15 +0000 (22:26 +0100)]
fix #245: migrating an actor does not migrate its execution

Before, the migration was only taking place when the actor got awaken
after an activity. Now, it takes place right away, and if it's
blocking on an execution, the activity is also migrated. If it's another
kind of activity, then an error is raised as this is not implemented
yet.

Also rewrite the s4u-actor-migrate example to be less funny but more
informative, and to test that feature.

(fix #245)

2 years agoadd Exec::setBound (and what lies beneath)
Frederic Suter [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 20:43:56 +0000 (21:43 +0100)]
add Exec::setBound (and what lies beneath)
also to convert the cloud-capping test (rather than example)
move the MSG to the dungeon

2 years agoallow to call s4u::Exec->setHost() after its start, to migrate it
Martin Quinson [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 16:49:37 +0000 (17:49 +0100)]
allow to call s4u::Exec->setHost() after its start, to migrate it

2 years agomove MutexImpl to the right namespace
Martin Quinson [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 14:22:24 +0000 (15:22 +0100)]
move MutexImpl to the right namespace

2 years agomove MutexImpl to the expected location
Martin Quinson [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 10:44:38 +0000 (11:44 +0100)]
move MutexImpl to the expected location

2 years agosplit MutexImpl into their own files
Martin Quinson [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 10:36:19 +0000 (11:36 +0100)]
split MutexImpl into their own files

2 years agocosmetics
Martin Quinson [Mon, 25 Dec 2017 17:54:23 +0000 (18:54 +0100)]
cosmetics

2 years agoimprove the doc of the release process
Martin Quinson [Mon, 25 Dec 2017 17:54:14 +0000 (18:54 +0100)]
improve the doc of the release process

2 years agoinitiate the 3.19 release cycle
Martin Quinson [Mon, 25 Dec 2017 17:53:32 +0000 (18:53 +0100)]
initiate the 3.19 release cycle

2 years agoallow zero-cost migration (a.k.a. setPm)
Frederic Suter [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 09:57:08 +0000 (10:57 +0100)]
allow zero-cost migration (a.k.a. setPm)

remove assert in suspend related to migration to be able to use it
during the migration (was a crappy hack before). This implies that we
assume that migration is a blocking operation (which is it) and that
nobody will try to let another process do a suspend.

2 years agovm_migrate is now part of the live_migration plugin \o/
Frederic Suter [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 09:23:47 +0000 (10:23 +0100)]
vm_migrate is now part of the live_migration plugin \o/

there are still some cleanups to do to complete the plugin
 - is_migrating in VirtualMachineImpl and related functions
 - the vm_params_t are only used by the migration
 - some factoring in VmLiveMigration.hpp
 - See if the final ack can be spared
 - check valgrind and sonar feedback

2 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git+ssh://scm.gforge.inria.fr//gitroot/simgrid/simgrid
Frederic Suter [Mon, 25 Dec 2017 19:55:10 +0000 (20:55 +0100)]
Merge branch 'master' of git+ssh://scm.gforge.inria.fr//gitroot/simgrid/simgrid

2 years agothis is still unimplemented, but please sonar
Augustin Degomme [Mon, 25 Dec 2017 18:54:31 +0000 (19:54 +0100)]
this is still unimplemented, but please sonar

2 years agorelease v3.18 v3.18
Martin Quinson [Sun, 24 Dec 2017 17:07:14 +0000 (18:07 +0100)]
release v3.18

2 years agoimprove doc
Martin Quinson [Sun, 24 Dec 2017 16:56:45 +0000 (17:56 +0100)]
improve doc

2 years agotry to fix Apple privatization after recent default change
Martin Quinson [Sun, 24 Dec 2017 16:04:09 +0000 (17:04 +0100)]
try to fix Apple privatization after recent default change

2 years agodefault privatization when not using SMPI should be 'no' :)
Martin Quinson [Sun, 24 Dec 2017 14:02:55 +0000 (15:02 +0100)]
default privatization when not using SMPI should be 'no' :)

2 years agofix some borken links in doxygen
Martin Quinson [Sun, 24 Dec 2017 08:50:12 +0000 (09:50 +0100)]
fix some borken links in doxygen

2 years agofix some doxygen warnings
Martin Quinson [Sat, 23 Dec 2017 09:45:21 +0000 (10:45 +0100)]
fix some doxygen warnings

2 years agodeprecate MSG in the documentation
Martin Quinson [Sat, 23 Dec 2017 08:02:51 +0000 (09:02 +0100)]
deprecate MSG in the documentation

2 years agooops, too early
Augustin Degomme [Fri, 22 Dec 2017 04:30:30 +0000 (05:30 +0100)]
oops, too early

2 years agoput back the fix for broken dlopen+thread on freebsd
Augustin Degomme [Fri, 22 Dec 2017 04:22:31 +0000 (05:22 +0100)]
put back the fix for broken dlopen+thread on freebsd

2 years agofix the fallbacks around privatization on BSD
Martin Quinson [Thu, 21 Dec 2017 20:22:57 +0000 (21:22 +0100)]
fix the fallbacks around privatization on BSD

2 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git+ssh://scm.gforge.inria.fr//gitroot/simgrid/simgrid
Frederic Suter [Thu, 21 Dec 2017 08:32:48 +0000 (09:32 +0100)]
Merge branch 'master' of git+ssh://scm.gforge.inria.fr//gitroot/simgrid/simgrid

2 years agodocument augustin's changes
Martin Quinson [Thu, 21 Dec 2017 07:14:34 +0000 (08:14 +0100)]
document augustin's changes

2 years agoimprove the doc of the SMPI module
Martin Quinson [Wed, 20 Dec 2017 22:45:42 +0000 (23:45 +0100)]
improve the doc of the SMPI module

2 years agooops, this should be yes (it's the same, but it makes more sense)
Augustin Degomme [Thu, 21 Dec 2017 01:04:35 +0000 (02:04 +0100)]
oops, this should be yes (it's the same, but it makes more sense)

2 years agoSMPI: make dlopen default privatization method, and activate it by default
Augustin Degomme [Thu, 21 Dec 2017 01:02:14 +0000 (02:02 +0100)]
SMPI: make dlopen default privatization method, and activate it by default

2 years agojust reordering functions in file
Frederic Suter [Wed, 20 Dec 2017 08:37:14 +0000 (09:37 +0100)]
just reordering functions in file

2 years agosonar: remove redundent declarations
Martin Quinson [Tue, 19 Dec 2017 20:05:43 +0000 (21:05 +0100)]
sonar: remove redundent declarations

2 years agotracking works better if signals are triggered
Frederic Suter [Tue, 19 Dec 2017 18:06:52 +0000 (19:06 +0100)]
tracking works better if signals are triggered

2 years agosonar: remove a left-over struct
Martin Quinson [Tue, 19 Dec 2017 16:59:22 +0000 (17:59 +0100)]
sonar: remove a left-over struct

2 years agodon't load a private header from s4u/NetZone.hpp
Martin Quinson [Tue, 19 Dec 2017 16:46:22 +0000 (17:46 +0100)]
don't load a private header from s4u/NetZone.hpp

The later is a public header, that our users can load.

2 years agotypos
Martin Quinson [Tue, 19 Dec 2017 08:33:26 +0000 (09:33 +0100)]
typos

2 years agomake ns3 not segfault anymore. Now it timeouts
Martin Quinson [Tue, 19 Dec 2017 08:25:43 +0000 (09:25 +0100)]
make ns3 not segfault anymore. Now it timeouts

2 years agoImprove doc on the privatization methods
Martin Quinson [Mon, 18 Dec 2017 10:53:46 +0000 (11:53 +0100)]
Improve doc on the privatization methods

2 years agoconvert another example to S4U (and document it)
Martin Quinson [Sun, 17 Dec 2017 14:46:22 +0000 (15:46 +0100)]
convert another example to S4U (and document it)

2 years agoevery setter in s4u::Activity return the activity
Martin Quinson [Sat, 16 Dec 2017 13:20:28 +0000 (14:20 +0100)]
every setter in s4u::Activity return the activity

This allows to chain the calls, as in
  simgrid::s4u::this_actor::exec_init(1)->setHost(host)->start()->wait();

2 years agoadd live migration plugin in java.
Frederic Suter [Tue, 19 Dec 2017 00:35:19 +0000 (01:35 +0100)]
add live migration plugin in java.
One test fails, well be checked later
update changelog

2 years agocleanups
Frederic Suter [Tue, 19 Dec 2017 00:00:04 +0000 (01:00 +0100)]
cleanups

2 years agoone step toward a live migration plugin
Frederic Suter [Mon, 18 Dec 2017 23:16:43 +0000 (00:16 +0100)]
one step toward a live migration plugin

have dirty page tracking in a separate plugin (kernel) and stop have
dirty page stuff when VM and Migration are not used.

Indeed, this plugin is only needed if vm have to be migrated live. In
that case, one should:
 1) #include "simgrid/plugins/live_migration.h"
 2) call "MSG/sg_vm_live_migration_plugin_init() right after the
    initialization of the simulation (MSG_init or s4u::Engine)

2 years agoadd some signals
Frederic Suter [Mon, 18 Dec 2017 21:44:28 +0000 (22:44 +0100)]
add some signals
will be needed to handle dirty pages in a plugin
add exec->getHost() too

2 years agomv VM shutdown to the plugin
Frederic Suter [Mon, 18 Dec 2017 08:48:42 +0000 (09:48 +0100)]
mv VM shutdown to the plugin
simplify MSG_vm_destroy

2 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git+ssh://scm.gforge.inria.fr//gitroot/simgrid/simgrid
Frederic Suter [Mon, 18 Dec 2017 07:41:48 +0000 (08:41 +0100)]
Merge branch 'master' of git+ssh://scm.gforge.inria.fr//gitroot/simgrid/simgrid

2 years agoFix concurrent run of msg-trace-* examples.
Arnaud Giersch [Sun, 17 Dec 2017 21:34:58 +0000 (22:34 +0100)]
Fix concurrent run of msg-trace-* examples.