Logo AND Algorithmique Numérique Distribuée

Public GIT Repository
simgrid.git
5 months agoDeprecate C API for SIMIX timers.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 12:13:04 +0000 (14:13 +0200)]
Deprecate C API for SIMIX timers.

5 months agoKeep deprecated features one more release (target: 1 year).
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 12:10:14 +0000 (14:10 +0200)]
Keep deprecated features one more release (target: 1 year).

5 months agoCosmetics: useless negation.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 11:59:39 +0000 (13:59 +0200)]
Cosmetics: useless negation.

5 months agoRemove defintion of msg_as_t, deprecated a long time ago.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 11:59:39 +0000 (13:59 +0200)]
Remove defintion of msg_as_t, deprecated a long time ago.

5 months agoMSG_task_receive_ext_bounded was indeed deprecated too. Remove it.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 11:59:39 +0000 (13:59 +0200)]
MSG_task_receive_ext_bounded was indeed deprecated too. Remove it.

5 months agoRemove features marked with XBT_ATTRIB_DEPRECATED_v325.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 11:59:39 +0000 (13:59 +0200)]
Remove features marked with XBT_ATTRIB_DEPRECATED_v325.

5 months agoUndeprecate SIMIX_process_self_{get,set}_data.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 12:41:08 +0000 (14:41 +0200)]
Undeprecate SIMIX_process_self_{get,set}_data.

It's used by user code (e.g. StarPU) and the suggested replacement cannot work
since ActorImpl is not part of the public API.

5 months agoTry to avoid error with mingw: function definition is marked dllimport.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 11:40:34 +0000 (13:40 +0200)]
Try to avoid error with mingw: function definition is marked dllimport.

5 months agoDon't try to run tests after build failure.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 11:11:30 +0000 (13:11 +0200)]
Don't try to run tests after build failure.

5 months agoUgly hack to remove temporary files on Windows.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 10:18:32 +0000 (12:18 +0200)]
Ugly hack to remove temporary files on Windows.

5 months agoplease clang and gcc10
Frederic Suter [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 07:51:45 +0000 (09:51 +0200)]
please clang and gcc10

5 months agoMerge branch 'master' of https://framagit.org/simgrid/simgrid into CRTP
Frederic Suter [Fri, 11 Oct 2019 07:12:06 +0000 (09:12 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' of https://framagit.org/simgrid/simgrid into CRTP

5 months agoDefine XBT_ATTRIB_DEPRECATED_v328.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 10 Oct 2019 21:16:00 +0000 (23:16 +0200)]
Define XBT_ATTRIB_DEPRECATED_v328.

5 months agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'origin/master'
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 10 Oct 2019 21:20:45 +0000 (23:20 +0200)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'origin/master'

5 months agoStart the dev of v3.24.1.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 10 Oct 2019 21:09:40 +0000 (23:09 +0200)]
Start the dev of v3.24.1.

5 months agouse CRTP to factor refcounting across activity types
Frederic Suter [Thu, 10 Oct 2019 10:16:28 +0000 (12:16 +0200)]
use CRTP to factor refcounting across activity types

5 months agoupdate things
Frederic Suter [Thu, 10 Oct 2019 09:37:05 +0000 (11:37 +0200)]
update things

5 months agoMerge branch 'master' into CRTP
Frederic Suter [Thu, 10 Oct 2019 09:15:07 +0000 (11:15 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' into CRTP

5 months agoPrefer stderr to stdout.
Arnaud Giersch [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 20:48:28 +0000 (22:48 +0200)]
Prefer stderr to stdout.

5 months agoTravis: make "du" more verbose.
Arnaud Giersch [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 20:03:57 +0000 (22:03 +0200)]
Travis: make "du" more verbose.

5 months agosecond attempt at fixing 32bits. Am I stupid or something? v3.24
Martin Quinson [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 17:24:35 +0000 (19:24 +0200)]
second attempt at fixing 32bits. Am I stupid or something?

5 months agofix 32bits builds
Martin Quinson [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 16:21:56 +0000 (18:21 +0200)]
fix 32bits builds

5 months agodocument more closed bugs
Martin Quinson [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 16:10:11 +0000 (18:10 +0200)]
document more closed bugs

5 months agotry to release v3.24
Martin Quinson [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 16:03:59 +0000 (18:03 +0200)]
try to release v3.24

5 months agoun-deprecate a redundent function
Martin Quinson [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 15:45:07 +0000 (17:45 +0200)]
un-deprecate a redundent function

I don't see why we should not help our users. Having 2 functions doing
close (but different) things is not such a bad thing.

5 months agoMerge pull request #334 from Mommessc/rework-energy-plugin-2.0
Martin Quinson [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 15:43:13 +0000 (17:43 +0200)]
Merge pull request #334 from Mommessc/rework-energy-plugin-2.0

Rework energy plugin, again

5 months agoMerge branch 'master' into rework-energy-plugin-2.0
Martin Quinson [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 15:42:18 +0000 (17:42 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' into rework-energy-plugin-2.0

5 months agoMerge branch 'master' of github.com:simgrid/simgrid
Martin Quinson [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 15:40:55 +0000 (17:40 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' of github.com:simgrid/simgrid

5 months agosonar: kill an overriding method
Martin Quinson [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 15:35:56 +0000 (17:35 +0200)]
sonar: kill an overriding method

5 months agojava: automatically close the streams on error to please java
Martin Quinson [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 15:20:06 +0000 (17:20 +0200)]
java: automatically close the streams on error to please java

5 months agoAdd a TODO in the code
Martin Quinson [Tue, 8 Oct 2019 07:30:56 +0000 (09:30 +0200)]
Add a TODO in the code

5 months agoplease clang-static by initializing p_idle only once
Martin Quinson [Tue, 8 Oct 2019 06:57:17 +0000 (08:57 +0200)]
please clang-static by initializing p_idle only once

5 months agoTry to understand where/when space is missing on travis+windows.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 8 Oct 2019 13:43:48 +0000 (15:43 +0200)]
Try to understand where/when space is missing on travis+windows.

5 months agochange handling of nested <prop> declarations.
Frederic Suter [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 12:32:33 +0000 (14:32 +0200)]
change handling of nested <prop> declarations.

Before: distinctions between zone props and other props with a boolean
and a single set of properties at a time.

Issue: As host can declare props and disks that in turn may declare
props, it enforces a declaration order: disks then props.

Now: stack a new property set when parsing a opening tag to store props
declared at this level. When closing a tag, we assign the set at the
top the stack where it has to and remove it from the stack.

5 months ago[Energy] cosmetics and comments
clement-dell [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 09:09:21 +0000 (11:09 +0200)]
[Energy] cosmetics and comments

5 months ago[Energy] Mark sg_host_get_idle_consumption as deprecated
clement-dell [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 09:09:08 +0000 (11:09 +0200)]
[Energy] Mark sg_host_get_idle_consumption as deprecated

5 months ago(Energy] Add sg_get_idle_consumption_at function
clement-dell [Wed, 9 Oct 2019 09:08:04 +0000 (11:08 +0200)]
(Energy] Add sg_get_idle_consumption_at function

Gets the idle power consumption of a given pstate

6 months agoRevert "[Energy] Can now retrieve idle power of specified pstate"
clement-dell [Tue, 8 Oct 2019 14:35:48 +0000 (16:35 +0200)]
Revert "[Energy] Can now retrieve idle power of specified pstate"

This reverts commit 174b26fda3ba93a0a72fe9c18085088a63cb9a5c.

6 months ago[Energy] Missing power profiles for a host defaulted to 0
clement-dell [Tue, 8 Oct 2019 13:45:02 +0000 (15:45 +0200)]
[Energy] Missing power profiles for a host defaulted to 0

SG will not complain with an assert as long as this host is not used

6 months agoTry to understand where/when space is missing on travis+windows.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 8 Oct 2019 13:43:48 +0000 (15:43 +0200)]
Try to understand where/when space is missing on travis+windows.

6 months ago[Energy] Enfore as many power profiles as pstates
clement-dell [Tue, 8 Oct 2019 13:43:04 +0000 (15:43 +0200)]
[Energy] Enfore as many power profiles as pstates

6 months ago[Energy] Can now retrieve idle power of specified pstate
clement-dell [Tue, 8 Oct 2019 13:42:01 +0000 (15:42 +0200)]
[Energy] Can now retrieve idle power of specified pstate

6 months agodeal with rounding errors on 32bits
Martin Quinson [Tue, 8 Oct 2019 05:52:01 +0000 (07:52 +0200)]
deal with rounding errors on 32bits

6 months agomore informative error message
Martin Quinson [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 21:48:13 +0000 (23:48 +0200)]
more informative error message

6 months agojava: obey to sonar, use nio.file.delete for better error messages
Martin Quinson [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 21:44:55 +0000 (23:44 +0200)]
java: obey to sonar, use nio.file.delete for better error messages

6 months agofix makedist
Martin Quinson [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 20:24:27 +0000 (22:24 +0200)]
fix makedist

6 months agoFurther doc improvements
Martin Quinson [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 20:14:39 +0000 (22:14 +0200)]
Further doc improvements

This fixes https://github.com/simgrid/simgrid/pull/330

6 months agotesh 'expect signal' can now accept more than one potential signal
Martin Quinson [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 19:42:36 +0000 (21:42 +0200)]
tesh 'expect signal' can now accept more than one potential signal

This is mainly for MacOSX which may raise a SIGBUS on stack overflow
instead of SIGSEGV as on Linux.

6 months agocosmetics in the doc of the Host energy plugin
Martin Quinson [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 18:52:37 +0000 (20:52 +0200)]
cosmetics in the doc of the Host energy plugin

6 months agocosmetics: cpu_load is not supposed to be >1 anymore
Martin Quinson [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 15:43:01 +0000 (17:43 +0200)]
cosmetics: cpu_load is not supposed to be >1 anymore

6 months agoremove a now useless conversion script
Martin Quinson [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 15:40:37 +0000 (17:40 +0200)]
remove a now useless conversion script

The C++ code will hint how to do the conversion. That may be time
consuming for someone wanting to convert a large file manually, but
I'm not sure of how long we'd need that script around. And I think
that nobody has such a long XML file (but the PR authors) so that
should be OK.

6 months agohost_energy: rework the code converting the old syntax to the new one
Martin Quinson [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 15:27:28 +0000 (17:27 +0200)]
host_energy: rework the code converting the old syntax to the new one

Write it very similarly to the python script provided in the MR.

Just because I don't trust myself with this conversion code.

6 months agoRemove another occurence of the now removed 'release' cmake variable
Martin Quinson [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 14:35:08 +0000 (16:35 +0200)]
Remove another occurence of the now removed 'release' cmake variable

6 months agosmall sonar cleanup
Martin Quinson [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 08:35:58 +0000 (10:35 +0200)]
small sonar cleanup

6 months agoMerge branch 'master' into CRTP
Frederic Suter [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 08:04:41 +0000 (10:04 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' into CRTP

6 months agoupdate changelog
Augustin Degomme [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 08:01:09 +0000 (10:01 +0200)]
update changelog

6 months agoimprove output (consistent with similar s4u example)
Frederic Suter [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 06:59:26 +0000 (08:59 +0200)]
improve output (consistent with similar s4u example)

6 months agoAlso attach our signal handler to SIGBUS, because MacOSX sometimes raises it on stack...
Martin Quinson [Sun, 6 Oct 2019 22:28:34 +0000 (00:28 +0200)]
Also attach our signal handler to SIGBUS, because MacOSX sometimes raises it on stack overflow

6 months agoMerge similar signals, and other cleanups
Martin Quinson [Sun, 6 Oct 2019 22:12:32 +0000 (00:12 +0200)]
Merge similar signals, and other cleanups

This change set is a bit large and some bits are brutal, but it
escalated quickly and I went out of patience to finish it.

6 months agoImprove the doc of plugins
Martin Quinson [Sun, 6 Oct 2019 21:54:15 +0000 (23:54 +0200)]
Improve the doc of plugins

6 months agosonar: useless cosmetics
Martin Quinson [Sun, 6 Oct 2019 09:48:20 +0000 (11:48 +0200)]
sonar: useless cosmetics

6 months agofix that java example
Martin Quinson [Sat, 5 Oct 2019 23:53:35 +0000 (01:53 +0200)]
fix that java example

6 months agoNew doc section on plugins
Martin Quinson [Sat, 5 Oct 2019 23:49:42 +0000 (01:49 +0200)]
New doc section on plugins

6 months agoRevert "Add '-O0' flag for: cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Debug"
Martin Quinson [Sat, 5 Oct 2019 21:50:01 +0000 (23:50 +0200)]
Revert "Add '-O0' flag for: cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Debug"

The SimGrid way to request non-optimized builds is
-Denable_compile_optimizations=OFF

I agree that this is not very user-friendly, and your commit looked
nice, but it actually broke the build as enable_debug was set to false
in release mode. As a result, -DNDEBUG was passed to the compilation,
removing all xbt_assert() and leading to many compilation issues since
our code does not compile without the asserts.

This reverts commit a4d4e2488e05031945fa3f1dd887e34c05cfa948.

6 months agokill the now unused 'release' cmake config variable
Martin Quinson [Sat, 5 Oct 2019 21:36:58 +0000 (23:36 +0200)]
kill the now unused 'release' cmake config variable

6 months agoInstall a conversion path for our users wrt host_energy plugin
Martin Quinson [Sat, 5 Oct 2019 21:14:43 +0000 (23:14 +0200)]
Install a conversion path for our users wrt host_energy plugin

This is related to https://github.com/simgrid/simgrid/issues/189

6 months agoProposition of a Release content
Martin Quinson [Sat, 5 Oct 2019 21:12:13 +0000 (23:12 +0200)]
Proposition of a Release content

6 months agoDocument recent changes
Martin Quinson [Sat, 5 Oct 2019 20:23:01 +0000 (22:23 +0200)]
Document recent changes

6 months agoBe more explicit
Martin Quinson [Thu, 26 Sep 2019 22:27:06 +0000 (00:27 +0200)]
Be more explicit

See d1acb8046fe9ab5e13349d95706efda8c7aa01ff for the details.

6 months agoFix a doc error about actors (Tutorial_algorithms)
Julien EMMANUEL [Fri, 4 Oct 2019 14:08:34 +0000 (16:08 +0200)]
Fix a doc error about actors (Tutorial_algorithms)

6 months agoNitpicking the reviews
Martin Quinson [Sat, 5 Oct 2019 19:57:28 +0000 (21:57 +0200)]
Nitpicking the reviews

MiB is for mebibyte, 1024^2 bytes and other unimportant changes.

6 months agoAdd '-O0' flag for: cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Debug
Gene Cooperman [Fri, 4 Oct 2019 20:34:25 +0000 (16:34 -0400)]
Add '-O0' flag for: cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Debug

6 months agoMinor polishing English: Configuring_Simgrid.rst
Gene Cooperman [Wed, 2 Oct 2019 21:27:29 +0000 (17:27 -0400)]
Minor polishing English: Configuring_Simgrid.rst

6 months agooops
Augustin Degomme [Thu, 3 Oct 2019 23:24:08 +0000 (01:24 +0200)]
oops

6 months agotimer on windows WSL seems less precise and was counting 0ns for some events... which...
Augustin Degomme [Thu, 3 Oct 2019 19:15:57 +0000 (21:15 +0200)]
timer on windows WSL seems less precise and was counting 0ns for some events... which were then skipped as < 1e-6s, and the trace changed

6 months agoadd test for call location with ti traces/replay/adjustment/sleep/computing=0.
Augustin Degomme [Thu, 3 Oct 2019 14:26:50 +0000 (16:26 +0200)]
add test for call location with ti traces/replay/adjustment/sleep/computing=0.
Idea is to replay twice a trace with an adjustment file meant to speedup the sleep (and only it, to avoid variability).
It's clearly not realistic, but timings should be reproducible (or not..).

6 months agoreplay : allow to really use --cfg=smpi/simulate-computation with replay.
Augustin Degomme [Thu, 3 Oct 2019 14:24:01 +0000 (16:24 +0200)]
replay : allow to really use --cfg=smpi/simulate-computation with replay.
Remove it from the teshes that had it wrongly activated.
It should not break, as it should have been useless before.

6 months agoAdd handling of sleep in replay.
Augustin Degomme [Thu, 3 Oct 2019 13:36:23 +0000 (15:36 +0200)]
Add handling of sleep in replay.
We can trace sleep events with --cfg=tracing/smpi/sleeping. Now we can replay them as well.
Even if 1 second is 1 second, let's allow to accelerate/slow these down artificially with smpi/comp-adjustment-file.
This should allow to test the feature.

6 months agochangelog
Augustin Degomme [Thu, 3 Oct 2019 12:57:19 +0000 (14:57 +0200)]
changelog

6 months agoHave trace-call-location work with filenames and not full paths.
Augustin Degomme [Thu, 3 Oct 2019 12:57:12 +0000 (14:57 +0200)]
Have trace-call-location work with filenames and not full paths.
It's much easier this way to use adjustment files, and name collisions in a given code are not common.
If it's still needed, previous behaviour can be restored using "smpi/trace-call-use-absolute-path" option

6 months agoAdd call_location to ti-trace and replay as well.
Augustin Degomme [Thu, 3 Oct 2019 10:11:57 +0000 (12:11 +0200)]
Add call_location to ti-trace and replay as well.
A new "location" event in the trace is printed

6 months agoMerge branch 'rework-energy-plugin' into 'master'
Martin Quinson [Sun, 29 Sep 2019 16:41:47 +0000 (18:41 +0200)]
Merge branch 'rework-energy-plugin' into 'master'

Rework energy plugin

See merge request simgrid/simgrid!14

6 months agoMerge branch 'master' into 'rework-energy-plugin'
Martin Quinson [Fri, 27 Sep 2019 22:01:57 +0000 (00:01 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' into 'rework-energy-plugin'

# Conflicts:
#   include/simgrid/plugins/energy.h

6 months agoFix warning: `content' may be used uninitialized.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 27 Sep 2019 07:17:49 +0000 (09:17 +0200)]
Fix warning: `content' may be used uninitialized.

6 months agoas said in the test : The MPI standard says that there is no way to use MPI_Request_f...
Augustin Degomme [Thu, 26 Sep 2019 15:28:44 +0000 (17:28 +0200)]
as said in the test : The MPI standard says that there is no way to use MPI_Request_free safely with receive requests

6 months agoFix build on openindiana.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 26 Sep 2019 14:33:56 +0000 (16:33 +0200)]
Fix build on openindiana.

On openindiana, getopt() is declared in <stdio.h>, <stdlib.h>, and <unistd.h>.
Include all of them to avoid build errors when it's #define'd to smpi_getopt.

6 months ago[sonar] fix some bugs and smells related to disk addition
Frederic Suter [Thu, 26 Sep 2019 14:19:55 +0000 (16:19 +0200)]
[sonar] fix some bugs and smells related to disk addition

6 months agoFix bug # + whitespace cleanup.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 26 Sep 2019 13:30:59 +0000 (15:30 +0200)]
Fix bug # + whitespace cleanup.

6 months agoUpdate .mailmap.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 26 Sep 2019 13:21:58 +0000 (15:21 +0200)]
Update .mailmap.

6 months ago[sonar] Make variable private.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 26 Sep 2019 13:03:27 +0000 (15:03 +0200)]
[sonar] Make variable private.

6 months ago[sonar] Put parentheses around macro parameters.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 26 Sep 2019 08:20:59 +0000 (10:20 +0200)]
[sonar] Put parentheses around macro parameters.

6 months ago[sonar] Avoid const_cast.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 26 Sep 2019 07:57:35 +0000 (09:57 +0200)]
[sonar] Avoid const_cast.

6 months agoThere's no more need for ActorPtr there.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 26 Sep 2019 07:51:52 +0000 (09:51 +0200)]
There's no more need for ActorPtr there.

6 months agoUse plain pointers in internal structures, and hopefully fix more memory leaks.
Arnaud Giersch [Wed, 25 Sep 2019 19:35:42 +0000 (21:35 +0200)]
Use plain pointers in internal structures, and hopefully fix more memory leaks.

6 months agoKill unused vector.
Arnaud Giersch [Wed, 25 Sep 2019 19:00:42 +0000 (21:00 +0200)]
Kill unused vector.

6 months agoPrefer sh to bash.
Arnaud Giersch [Wed, 25 Sep 2019 19:47:04 +0000 (21:47 +0200)]
Prefer sh to bash.

6 months agointroduces <disk> and s4u::Disk
Frederic Suter [Wed, 25 Sep 2019 18:14:55 +0000 (20:14 +0200)]
introduces <disk> and s4u::Disk

6 months agoMerge branch 'master' into disk
Frederic Suter [Wed, 25 Sep 2019 18:14:27 +0000 (20:14 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' into disk

6 months agoMerge branch 'master' of https://framagit.org/simgrid/simgrid
Frederic Suter [Wed, 25 Sep 2019 18:14:13 +0000 (20:14 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' of https://framagit.org/simgrid/simgrid

6 months agoregenerate smpi_extended_traces.h and friends after the addition of MPI_Bsend and...
Martin Quinson [Wed, 25 Sep 2019 16:11:23 +0000 (18:11 +0200)]
regenerate smpi_extended_traces.h and friends after the addition of MPI_Bsend and friends