Logo AND Algorithmique Numérique Distribuée

Public GIT Repository
simgrid.git
6 months agothread factory + dlopen privatization seems to be working now on osx systems (at...
Augustin Degomme [Fri, 19 Nov 2021 21:28:36 +0000 (21:28 +0000)]
thread factory + dlopen privatization seems to be working now on osx systems (at least on our ci system, let see others).

6 months agoThis should be fixed by now, remove the workaround ( https://github.com/ScoopInstalle...
Augustin Degomme [Fri, 19 Nov 2021 15:32:02 +0000 (15:32 +0000)]
This should be fixed by now, remove the workaround ( https://github.com/ScoopInstaller/Main/issues/1752 )

6 months agocontinue to mess up with simdag
SUTER Frederic [Sat, 13 Nov 2021 16:12:14 +0000 (17:12 +0100)]
continue to mess up with simdag

6 months agoplug leak
SUTER Frederic [Sat, 13 Nov 2021 09:44:13 +0000 (10:44 +0100)]
plug leak

6 months agofix jedule build
SUTER Frederic [Sat, 13 Nov 2021 09:38:42 +0000 (10:38 +0100)]
fix jedule build

6 months agofix 32 bits build (bis, damnit)
SUTER Frederic [Fri, 12 Nov 2021 21:42:03 +0000 (22:42 +0100)]
fix 32 bits build (bis, damnit)

6 months agofix 32 bits build
SUTER Frederic [Fri, 12 Nov 2021 21:34:16 +0000 (22:34 +0100)]
fix 32 bits build

6 months agoObjectify SD_task_t
SUTER Frederic [Fri, 12 Nov 2021 19:15:46 +0000 (20:15 +0100)]
Objectify SD_task_t

6 months agoRevert "use smart pointers for kernel timers"
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 10 Nov 2021 13:53:23 +0000 (14:53 +0100)]
Revert "use smart pointers for kernel timers"

This reverts commit 322e28c4503ed99d6c36ad9f450a3c0e515b4a8d.

6 months agorename synchro logging categories (simix->ker)
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 10 Nov 2021 10:50:41 +0000 (11:50 +0100)]
rename synchro logging categories (simix->ker)

6 months agouse smart pointers for kernel timers
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 10 Nov 2021 10:34:15 +0000 (11:34 +0100)]
use smart pointers for kernel timers

6 months agorefactor exception handling for activities
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 10 Nov 2021 09:53:23 +0000 (10:53 +0100)]
refactor exception handling for activities

6 months ago[sonar] constify
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 10 Nov 2021 08:40:11 +0000 (09:40 +0100)]
[sonar] constify

6 months agorename log category from simix_context to ker_context
SUTER Frederic [Tue, 9 Nov 2021 17:34:55 +0000 (18:34 +0100)]
rename log category from simix_context to ker_context

6 months agorename log category from simix_process to ker_actor
SUTER Frederic [Tue, 9 Nov 2021 17:25:52 +0000 (18:25 +0100)]
rename log category from simix_process to ker_actor

6 months agoremove timeout_cb only once + cosmetics
SUTER Frederic [Tue, 9 Nov 2021 16:58:15 +0000 (17:58 +0100)]
remove timeout_cb only once + cosmetics

6 months ago[sonar] Refactor to reduce cognitive complexity
SUTER Frederic [Tue, 9 Nov 2021 16:12:06 +0000 (17:12 +0100)]
[sonar] Refactor to reduce cognitive complexity

6 months agoone less include file
SUTER Frederic [Tue, 9 Nov 2021 11:06:04 +0000 (12:06 +0100)]
one less include file

6 months agoit may be a double, but not an int
SUTER Frederic [Tue, 9 Nov 2021 09:48:37 +0000 (10:48 +0100)]
it may be a double, but not an int

6 months agofix ns3 build (missing namespace)
SUTER Frederic [Tue, 9 Nov 2021 09:00:46 +0000 (10:00 +0100)]
fix ns3 build (missing namespace)

6 months agomove surf_presolve, surf_solve, and surf_get_clock to EngineImpl
SUTER Frederic [Tue, 9 Nov 2021 08:45:43 +0000 (09:45 +0100)]
move surf_presolve, surf_solve, and surf_get_clock to EngineImpl

6 months agosay bye to simgrid::surf namespace
SUTER Frederic [Mon, 8 Nov 2021 08:47:34 +0000 (09:47 +0100)]
say bye to simgrid::surf namespace

6 months agocosmetics
SUTER Frederic [Mon, 8 Nov 2021 08:00:26 +0000 (09:00 +0100)]
cosmetics

6 months agocosmetics
SUTER Frederic [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 10:09:28 +0000 (11:09 +0100)]
cosmetics

6 months agomove Cpu resource definition where it belongs
SUTER Frederic [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 09:49:56 +0000 (10:49 +0100)]
move Cpu resource definition where it belongs

6 months agocosmetics
SUTER Frederic [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 09:27:25 +0000 (10:27 +0100)]
cosmetics

6 months agoinclude cleanups after deprecation
SUTER Frederic [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 08:57:07 +0000 (09:57 +0100)]
include cleanups after deprecation

6 months agono reason to die here
SUTER Frederic [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 08:50:17 +0000 (09:50 +0100)]
no reason to die here

6 months ago[appveyor] Lazy fix for failing python tests.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 4 Nov 2021 17:10:15 +0000 (18:10 +0100)]
[appveyor] Lazy fix for failing python tests.

6 months agoReorganize VM code
SUTER Frederic [Thu, 4 Nov 2021 10:52:54 +0000 (11:52 +0100)]
Reorganize VM code

After 8 years of probation, let's consider VM as an actual part of S4U
rather than as a plugin. This change should be transparent for the
users.

+ Only the Live Migration and its dirty page tracking mechanisms remain
plugins.
+ The user interface has been moved to src/s4u and the kernel
counterpart to src/kernel/resource.
+ The simgrid::vm namespace doesn't exist anymore, but the live
migration stuff is in simgrid::plugin::vm
+ The contents of VmHostExt.* has been merged to
s4u_VirtualMachine.cpp and VirtualMachine.hpp as this extension is
always needed.
+ Cleanup a bit the namespaces too

6 months agoadd capacity to update priority of Execs too
SUTER Frederic [Sat, 30 Oct 2021 15:59:12 +0000 (17:59 +0200)]
add capacity to update priority of Execs too

6 months agoadd user friendly wrapper to set priorities on I/Os
SUTER Frederic [Sat, 30 Oct 2021 10:48:54 +0000 (12:48 +0200)]
add user friendly wrapper to set priorities on I/Os

6 months agoadd the capacity the update the priority of an I/O during its execution
SUTER Frederic [Fri, 29 Oct 2021 14:58:54 +0000 (16:58 +0200)]
add the capacity the update the priority of an I/O during its execution

6 months ago[no-ci] another copy/paste glitch
SUTER Frederic [Thu, 28 Oct 2021 07:49:56 +0000 (09:49 +0200)]
[no-ci] another copy/paste glitch

6 months agoSlightly improve coverage for xbt/config.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 29 Oct 2021 08:16:35 +0000 (10:16 +0200)]
Slightly improve coverage for xbt/config.

* add config::alias in unit tests
* add unit test triggering lookup of snake_case variant
* kill Config::dump (not publicly declared; redundant with Config::help)

6 months agoBe more user-friendly, and give a hint for options wrongly spelled in snake_case.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 28 Oct 2021 19:36:45 +0000 (21:36 +0200)]
Be more user-friendly, and give a hint for options wrongly spelled in snake_case.

6 months ago[no-ci] typos in comments
SUTER Frederic [Thu, 28 Oct 2021 07:32:05 +0000 (09:32 +0200)]
[no-ci] typos in comments

6 months agoadd capacity to set priorities on I/Os + example
SUTER Frederic [Thu, 28 Oct 2021 07:20:34 +0000 (09:20 +0200)]
add capacity to set priorities on I/Os + example

6 months agoDisplay test output to ease debugging.
Arnaud Giersch [Wed, 27 Oct 2021 14:20:04 +0000 (16:20 +0200)]
Display test output to ease debugging.

[ci-skip]

6 months ago[mc_dwarf] Continue with a warning on error.
Arnaud Giersch [Wed, 27 Oct 2021 13:14:34 +0000 (15:14 +0200)]
[mc_dwarf] Continue with a warning on error.

6 months ago[no-ci] update VM doc
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 27 Oct 2021 12:09:43 +0000 (14:09 +0200)]
[no-ci] update VM doc

6 months agoChange the way VMs are created.
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 27 Oct 2021 10:59:02 +0000 (12:59 +0200)]
Change the way VMs are created.

Instead of explicitly calling the ctor with new, use the physical host
as a factory thanks to the new Host::create_vm() method.

6 months agoreindent file
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 27 Oct 2021 09:24:59 +0000 (11:24 +0200)]
reindent file

6 months agoadd File::open and File::close in FileSystem plugin
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 27 Oct 2021 08:56:37 +0000 (10:56 +0200)]
add File::open and File::close in FileSystem plugin

+ better match between C and C++ APIs
+ save some explicit new/delete in user code

6 months ago[sonar] use shared_ptr instead of new/delete
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 27 Oct 2021 07:52:34 +0000 (09:52 +0200)]
[sonar] use shared_ptr instead of new/delete

6 months ago[sonar] add a few const
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 27 Oct 2021 07:33:59 +0000 (09:33 +0200)]
[sonar] add a few const

6 months agoMove kernel/resource/Resource.hpp in private section.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Oct 2021 20:18:54 +0000 (22:18 +0200)]
Move kernel/resource/Resource.hpp in private section.

Rationale: includes several private files from src/kernel/.

6 months agoMove smpi_replay.hpp in private section.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Oct 2021 20:07:16 +0000 (22:07 +0200)]
Move smpi_replay.hpp in private section.

Rationale: includes private smpi_actor.hpp.

6 months agoAdd default value for variable TRACE_CALL_LOCATION in smpif90.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Oct 2021 19:28:48 +0000 (21:28 +0200)]
Add default value for variable TRACE_CALL_LOCATION in smpif90.

6 months agoComplete error message.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Oct 2021 19:00:51 +0000 (21:00 +0200)]
Complete error message.

6 months agoAdd some missing py::call_guard<py::gil_scoped_release>().
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Oct 2021 20:47:12 +0000 (22:47 +0200)]
Add some missing py::call_guard<py::gil_scoped_release>().

They are needed each time a simcall in involved.

6 months agoRemove various hacks meant to support swapped contexts with pybind11.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Oct 2021 15:36:43 +0000 (17:36 +0200)]
Remove various hacks meant to support swapped contexts with pybind11.

They revealed insufficient with pybind11 v2.8.0, and threads are the only
contexts supported now.

These bits will remain in git history, in case someone wants to revive them.

Update ChangeLog accordingly.

7 months agomake Resource:state_event_ private
SUTER Frederic [Tue, 26 Oct 2021 14:10:30 +0000 (16:10 +0200)]
make Resource:state_event_ private

7 months agorefactor Resource::is_used()
SUTER Frederic [Tue, 26 Oct 2021 12:52:16 +0000 (14:52 +0200)]
refactor Resource::is_used()

7 months agodocument IO related signals
SUTER Frederic [Mon, 25 Oct 2021 08:11:55 +0000 (10:11 +0200)]
document IO related signals

7 months agoOnly test python examples with their default context factory.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Oct 2021 10:04:29 +0000 (12:04 +0200)]
Only test python examples with their default context factory.

7 months agoUse thread contexts by default with python bindings.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 26 Oct 2021 10:04:03 +0000 (12:04 +0200)]
Use thread contexts by default with python bindings.

7 months agoReduce scope for py_context.
Arnaud Giersch [Mon, 25 Oct 2021 20:57:09 +0000 (22:57 +0200)]
Reduce scope for py_context.

7 months agosomehow smpif90 was not handling trace_call_location at all.
Augustin Degomme [Mon, 25 Oct 2021 09:33:21 +0000 (11:33 +0200)]
somehow smpif90 was not handling trace_call_location at all.
this must totally be tested properly, I presume :p

7 months agofortran: don't generate temporary files when not necessary.
Augustin Degomme [Mon, 25 Oct 2021 09:17:53 +0000 (11:17 +0200)]
fortran: don't generate temporary files when not necessary.
It's only necessary for files with "program xxx" clause, so one for each executable (it can be necessary for all files, but only when trace_call_location is set).
This should help with debugging, as gdb cannot find temporary files which are deleted

7 months agoDo not attempt to compile raw contextes when HAVE_RAW_CONTEXTS is not defined
Martin Quinson [Sun, 24 Oct 2021 14:34:48 +0000 (16:34 +0200)]
Do not attempt to compile raw contextes when HAVE_RAW_CONTEXTS is not defined

This was failing on Debian x32 at least. No idea of why is now broken,
but trying to build simgrid v3.29 on x32 raised the cmake message
"Disable fast raw contexts on x32 ABI" and then failed with:

  [ 95%] Linking CXX shared library lib/libsimgrid.so
  /usr/bin/cmake -E cmake_link_script CMakeFiles/simgrid.dir/link.txt --verbose=1
  (very long c++ command line, listing all .o files)
  /tmp/ccRaRl4N.s: Assembler messages:
  /tmp/ccRaRl4N.s:23: Error: unsupported syntax for `ret'
  /tmp/ccRaRl4N.s:31: Error: invalid instruction suffix for `push'
  /tmp/ccRaRl4N.s:32: Error: invalid instruction suffix for `push'
  /tmp/ccRaRl4N.s:33: Error: invalid instruction suffix for `push'
  /tmp/ccRaRl4N.s:34: Error: invalid instruction suffix for `push'
  /tmp/ccRaRl4N.s:37: Error: invalid instruction suffix for `pop'
  /tmp/ccRaRl4N.s:38: Error: invalid instruction suffix for `pop'
  /tmp/ccRaRl4N.s:39: Error: invalid instruction suffix for `pop'
  /tmp/ccRaRl4N.s:40: Error: invalid instruction suffix for `pop'
  /tmp/ccRaRl4N.s:41: Error: unsupported syntax for `ret'
  lto-wrapper: fatal error: /usr/bin/c++ returned 1 exit status
  compilation terminated.
  /usr/bin/ld: error: lto-wrapper failed
  collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status

7 months agoUpdate the release procedure. Forgot to update the template CI for too long
Martin Quinson [Sun, 24 Oct 2021 14:30:01 +0000 (16:30 +0200)]
Update the release procedure. Forgot to update the template CI for too long

7 months agosplit Comm::on_start into two signals (on_send and on_recv)
SUTER Frederic [Thu, 21 Oct 2021 14:36:13 +0000 (16:36 +0200)]
split Comm::on_start into two signals (on_send and on_recv)

+ the actual start of the Comm occurs when both send and receiver are
  there. This event can be notified by CommImpl::on_start
+ TODO: Comm::on_completion and CommImpl::on_completion are redundant
+ TODO: The CommImpl signals should go back to Comm, but on kernel
  side a CommImpl does not have a piface to notify (yet)

7 months agomention the right signals
SUTER Frederic [Thu, 21 Oct 2021 14:25:06 +0000 (16:25 +0200)]
mention the right signals

7 months agoremove Link::on_communicate (use CommImpl::on_start instead)
SUTER Frederic [Thu, 21 Oct 2021 13:49:12 +0000 (15:49 +0200)]
remove Link::on_communicate (use CommImpl::on_start instead)

7 months agouse CommImpl::on_start instead of Link::on_communicate for host-dvfs
SUTER Frederic [Thu, 21 Oct 2021 13:41:45 +0000 (15:41 +0200)]
use CommImpl::on_start instead of Link::on_communicate for host-dvfs

7 months agouse CommImpl::on_start instead of Link::on_communicate for IB
SUTER Frederic [Thu, 21 Oct 2021 13:31:56 +0000 (15:31 +0200)]
use CommImpl::on_start instead of Link::on_communicate for IB

7 months agointroduce Comm::on_start and Comm::on_completion
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 20 Oct 2021 09:59:41 +0000 (11:59 +0200)]
introduce Comm::on_start and Comm::on_completion
+ Consistency with other activities
+ Potential replacement to the unnatural Link::on_communicate
+ Use these signals in the link plugins (energy and load)
+ update doc

7 months agoTypo.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 14 Oct 2021 10:14:31 +0000 (12:14 +0200)]
Typo.

7 months agoflatifier.cpp: revert change from commit ba1c6dce93, and omit empty routes from output.
Arnaud Giersch [Wed, 13 Oct 2021 15:27:48 +0000 (17:27 +0200)]
flatifier.cpp: revert change from commit ba1c6dce93, and omit empty routes from output.

7 months agoKill trailing whitespace in misc. remaining files.
Arnaud Giersch [Wed, 13 Oct 2021 14:07:19 +0000 (16:07 +0200)]
Kill trailing whitespace in misc. remaining files.

7 months agoKill trailing whitespaces in teshsuite/smpi/{isp,mpich3-test}.
Arnaud Giersch [Thu, 23 Sep 2021 09:37:22 +0000 (11:37 +0200)]
Kill trailing whitespaces in teshsuite/smpi/{isp,mpich3-test}.

At first I hesitated to touch these files, then I saw that they had
already undergone a first cleaning pass some time ago.

7 months agoKill trailing whitespaces in tesh files (except when testing tesh or log facility).
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 12 Oct 2021 22:01:21 +0000 (00:01 +0200)]
Kill trailing whitespaces in tesh files (except when testing tesh or log facility).

7 months agoKill trailing whitespaces in XML files.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 12 Oct 2021 20:19:33 +0000 (22:19 +0200)]
Kill trailing whitespaces in XML files.

7 months agoKill trailing whitespaces in docs.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 12 Oct 2021 19:20:18 +0000 (21:20 +0200)]
Kill trailing whitespaces in docs.

7 months agoKill trailing whitespaces in source code files.
Arnaud Giersch [Tue, 12 Oct 2021 14:56:45 +0000 (16:56 +0200)]
Kill trailing whitespaces in source code files.

7 months agoReplace backticks in shell script.
Arnaud Giersch [Mon, 11 Oct 2021 13:54:04 +0000 (15:54 +0200)]
Replace backticks in shell script.

7 months agoDefine macro XBT_ATTRIB_DEPRECATED_v334.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 8 Oct 2021 08:09:13 +0000 (10:09 +0200)]
Define macro XBT_ATTRIB_DEPRECATED_v334.

7 months agoRemove deprecated features for next release (3.30).
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 8 Oct 2021 08:08:27 +0000 (10:08 +0200)]
Remove deprecated features for next release (3.30).

7 months agoStart the dev of 3.30.
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 8 Oct 2021 08:04:08 +0000 (10:04 +0200)]
Start the dev of 3.30.

7 months agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'github/master'
Arnaud Giersch [Fri, 8 Oct 2021 08:07:19 +0000 (10:07 +0200)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'github/master'

7 months agoUpdate AUTHORS
Arnaud Legrand [Fri, 8 Oct 2021 07:35:39 +0000 (07:35 +0000)]
Update AUTHORS

7 months agoDocker tuto-mc is based on the git version, not on stable image at all
Martin Quinson [Fri, 8 Oct 2021 06:37:37 +0000 (08:37 +0200)]
Docker tuto-mc is based on the git version, not on stable image at all

7 months agoCosmetics
Martin Quinson [Fri, 8 Oct 2021 06:13:18 +0000 (08:13 +0200)]
Cosmetics

In the release notes and rename a github action for disanbiguity

7 months agogh action docker image: allow manual trigger
Martin Quinson [Fri, 8 Oct 2021 05:42:33 +0000 (07:42 +0200)]
gh action docker image: allow manual trigger

7 months agoa github action to rebuild the stable docker images
Martin Quinson [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 23:43:33 +0000 (01:43 +0200)]
a github action to rebuild the stable docker images

7 months agoFurther modernize the releasing process
Martin Quinson [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 23:31:19 +0000 (01:31 +0200)]
Further modernize the releasing process

7 months agoRelease notes of v3.29
Martin Quinson [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 23:28:28 +0000 (01:28 +0200)]
Release notes of v3.29

7 months agoSlightly change the releasing process
Martin Quinson [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 23:16:59 +0000 (01:16 +0200)]
Slightly change the releasing process

7 months agotyypo
Martin Quinson [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 23:15:02 +0000 (01:15 +0200)]
tyypo

7 months agoDockerfile: fix a syntax error
Martin Quinson [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 23:02:23 +0000 (01:02 +0200)]
Dockerfile: fix a syntax error

7 months agoDocker action: don't rebuild the tuto images each week as they build upon stable
Martin Quinson [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 23:01:54 +0000 (01:01 +0200)]
Docker action: don't rebuild the tuto images each week as they build upon stable

7 months agotypo v3.29
Martin Quinson [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 21:17:51 +0000 (23:17 +0200)]
typo

7 months agoRelease v3.29
Martin Quinson [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 21:10:06 +0000 (23:10 +0200)]
Release v3.29

7 months agocleanups
SUTER Frederic [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 09:18:41 +0000 (11:18 +0200)]
cleanups

7 months agothere is no such thing as simix::Host
SUTER Frederic [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 08:23:55 +0000 (10:23 +0200)]
there is no such thing as simix::Host

7 months agodeprecate SIMIX_is_maestro
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 6 Oct 2021 13:14:29 +0000 (15:14 +0200)]
deprecate SIMIX_is_maestro

7 months agodeprecate 2 more SIMIX functions
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 6 Oct 2021 12:44:55 +0000 (14:44 +0200)]
deprecate 2 more SIMIX functions

7 months agoempty out src/simix/smx_context.cpp
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 6 Oct 2021 07:57:09 +0000 (09:57 +0200)]
empty out src/simix/smx_context.cpp

7 months agomodernize some SIMIX functions
SUTER Frederic [Wed, 6 Oct 2021 07:31:15 +0000 (09:31 +0200)]
modernize some SIMIX functions