Logo AND Algorithmique Numérique Distribuée

Public GIT Repository
simgrid.git
4 years agocosmetics in debug messages
Martin Quinson [Tue, 21 Jul 2015 20:36:28 +0000 (22:36 +0200)]
cosmetics in debug messages

4 years agosanitize the process_create simcall
Martin Quinson [Tue, 21 Jul 2015 12:50:27 +0000 (14:50 +0200)]
sanitize the process_create simcall

It was receiving a pointer to its result as first parameter, and it
now simply returns that result.

It could be further improved by returning a smx_process_t instead of a
void*, but our simcall mechanism does not seem to allow to cast results.

4 years agocosmetics in the check of library version vs. header version
Martin Quinson [Tue, 21 Jul 2015 10:04:53 +0000 (12:04 +0200)]
cosmetics in the check of library version vs. header version

4 years agoRemove a bunch of stuff from Host that was delegated to cpu anyway
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 23:27:19 +0000 (01:27 +0200)]
Remove a bunch of stuff from Host that was delegated to cpu anyway

- getSpeed()
- getAvailableSpeed()
- getCore()
- getCurrentPowerPeak();
- getPowerPeakAt(pstate_index);
- getNbPstates();
- {set,get}Pstate()

4 years agofurther doxygen cleanups
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 23:17:16 +0000 (01:17 +0200)]
further doxygen cleanups

4 years agocosmetics and documentation around VM parameters
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 23:06:25 +0000 (01:06 +0200)]
cosmetics and documentation around VM parameters

4 years agokill dead prototypes
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 22:26:18 +0000 (00:26 +0200)]
kill dead prototypes

4 years agomore rewrite of the doxygen
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 21:36:51 +0000 (23:36 +0200)]
more rewrite of the doxygen

4 years agoless void*, more sg_host_t
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 21:13:01 +0000 (23:13 +0200)]
less void*, more sg_host_t

4 years agoremove Host::communicate() (use network instead)
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 20:39:48 +0000 (22:39 +0200)]
remove Host::communicate() (use network instead)

This is my latest attempt to untangle things in surf: empty the Host
class and move everything to network/cpu/storage instead.

4 years agocode factorization
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 17:01:11 +0000 (19:01 +0200)]
code factorization

4 years agokill an unused field (+cosmetics)
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 16:56:50 +0000 (18:56 +0200)]
kill an unused field (+cosmetics)

4 years agoactually kill models' names
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 16:42:44 +0000 (18:42 +0200)]
actually kill models' names

4 years agoKill models getName() call sites.
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 16:14:21 +0000 (18:14 +0200)]
Kill models getName() call sites.

- Debug messages now depend on typeid(...).name(). Beware, the output
  may be compiler dependent.
- It was mainly used to have a specific handling of NS3, which method
  shareRessources() is not idempotent (ie, it actually moves the model
  in the future with no possibility of rolling it back afterward).

  So NS3->shareRessource() needs to be run after all other
  shareRessources, and before the updateState()s.

  Add a shareResourcesIsIdempotent() method to all models to detect
  whether we need to activate that strange behavior without having to
  rely on the model name.

- Removing models namesmakes Model pure virtual, possibly allowing
  diamon-shaped inheritance in L07, where we need only one model for
  CpuModel and NetworkModel.

4 years agotypo in comments
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 15:17:48 +0000 (17:17 +0200)]
typo in comments

4 years agokill an unused function
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 15:10:03 +0000 (17:10 +0200)]
kill an unused function

4 years agokill the sorry remainings of a parallelization of SURF
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 15:03:22 +0000 (17:03 +0200)]
kill the sorry remainings of a parallelization of SURF

4 years agoinline two static functions
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 14:51:50 +0000 (16:51 +0200)]
inline two static functions

4 years agoinitialize fields at declaration
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 13:51:54 +0000 (15:51 +0200)]
initialize fields at declaration

4 years agoRemove one of the many pimple: HostModel::p_cpuModel
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 13:41:28 +0000 (15:41 +0200)]
Remove one of the many pimple: HostModel::p_cpuModel

Gosh this code is hairly. This one came from the VM war, apparently.

4 years agokill unused function
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 13:07:45 +0000 (15:07 +0200)]
kill unused function

4 years agomake a pimple smaller
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 13:05:27 +0000 (15:05 +0200)]
make a pimple smaller

4 years agoreduce a bit the amount of void* (in L07)
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 12:27:45 +0000 (14:27 +0200)]
reduce a bit the amount of void* (in L07)

4 years agorename HostL07Action to L07Action
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 11:18:34 +0000 (13:18 +0200)]
rename HostL07Action to L07Action

L07 actions are indeed hybrid actions that are both CPU and network.

4 years agocode simplification
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 10:57:32 +0000 (12:57 +0200)]
code simplification

Also, add some comments

4 years agokill dead code: Action::recycle never got implemented
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 10:37:23 +0000 (12:37 +0200)]
kill dead code: Action::recycle never got implemented

4 years agomore cosmetics in doxygen comments
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 10:32:19 +0000 (12:32 +0200)]
more cosmetics in doxygen comments

4 years agocosmetics in the info message of L07 model starting up
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 10:10:05 +0000 (12:10 +0200)]
cosmetics in the info message of L07 model starting up

4 years agocosmetics in doxygen comments
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 09:53:13 +0000 (11:53 +0200)]
cosmetics in doxygen comments

And kill dead code and other useless cosmetics

4 years agoGet ride of ???Ptr types in C++: make pointers explicit
Martin Quinson [Mon, 20 Jul 2015 08:31:24 +0000 (10:31 +0200)]
Get ride of ???Ptr types in C++: make pointers explicit

Making pointers explicit is not what we did in C so far, but what we
did was a bad idea. It's easier to code when you know what is a
pointer and what is not.

Also:
- Convert a bunch of C-typecast into static_cast
- Kill some dead or dupplicated code

4 years agoinline a static function called only once
Martin Quinson [Sun, 19 Jul 2015 16:14:46 +0000 (18:14 +0200)]
inline a static function called only once

4 years agosort my TODO list :-(
Martin Quinson [Sun, 19 Jul 2015 15:33:34 +0000 (17:33 +0200)]
sort my TODO list :-(

plus cosmetics

4 years agoKill link_lib and have C++ handle the hashmap of all links
Martin Quinson [Sun, 19 Jul 2015 15:20:33 +0000 (17:20 +0200)]
Kill link_lib and have C++ handle the hashmap of all links

I did not manage to get SD_application_reinit() working, so this
function is currently disabled. I think that it should be removed
anyway.

4 years agokill some remainings of sd_link_t
Martin Quinson [Sun, 19 Jul 2015 06:49:55 +0000 (08:49 +0200)]
kill some remainings of sd_link_t

4 years agostart refreshing and fixing the GTNetS interface (WIP)
Martin Quinson [Sun, 19 Jul 2015 00:14:49 +0000 (02:14 +0200)]
start refreshing and fixing the GTNetS interface (WIP)

4 years agoOverhaul of NS3 support in SimGrid
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 21:35:18 +0000 (23:35 +0200)]
Overhaul of NS3 support in SimGrid

- NS3 is now found if installed from the default package (eg, Debian)
- If enable_ns3 and not found, cmake will fail
- 3 log channels were a bit too much
- Don't use NS3 log channels as it fails when running in Java somehow
- Drop support for ancient version of NS3 (3.10)
- Documentation refresh/rewrite
- Revalidate the tesh files (rounding errors on timings)

4 years agofix doxygen
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 20:50:57 +0000 (22:50 +0200)]
fix doxygen

4 years agosanitize C API of sg_link
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 17:19:25 +0000 (19:19 +0200)]
sanitize C API of sg_link

4 years agothere is no need for a SimDag's link type
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 17:13:29 +0000 (19:13 +0200)]
there is no need for a SimDag's link type

4 years agokill an unused field
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 16:33:56 +0000 (18:33 +0200)]
kill an unused field

4 years agokill LinkPtr type and make Link* explicit
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 16:31:51 +0000 (18:31 +0200)]
kill LinkPtr type and make Link* explicit

4 years agogive Link a proper public interface
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 16:13:30 +0000 (18:13 +0200)]
give Link a proper public interface

4 years agoRename NetworkLink type to Link
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 14:17:26 +0000 (16:17 +0200)]
Rename NetworkLink type to Link

Yup, that's an useless cosmetics.

4 years agocosmetics in the comments
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 13:56:02 +0000 (15:56 +0200)]
cosmetics in the comments

4 years agokill unused type definitions
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 13:46:02 +0000 (15:46 +0200)]
kill unused type definitions

4 years agomake SD_HOST_LEVEL private
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 13:25:34 +0000 (15:25 +0200)]
make SD_HOST_LEVEL private

4 years agoNew function: sg_hosts_as_dynar
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 12:26:59 +0000 (14:26 +0200)]
New function: sg_hosts_as_dynar

This was implemented several times, in each layer

4 years agocosmetics: make semantic more clear
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 10:52:10 +0000 (12:52 +0200)]
cosmetics: make semantic more clear

4 years ago[SGpp] make ROUTING_HOST_LEVEL private. That was painful
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 10:42:26 +0000 (12:42 +0200)]
[SGpp] make ROUTING_HOST_LEVEL private. That was painful

4 years agowhatever, eclipse
Martin Quinson [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 10:37:42 +0000 (12:37 +0200)]
whatever, eclipse

4 years agoUse MSG_host_by_name() instead of MSG_get_host_by_name()
Martin Quinson [Wed, 15 Jul 2015 08:30:02 +0000 (10:30 +0200)]
Use MSG_host_by_name() instead of MSG_get_host_by_name()

Both work, but the first is more coherent with the rest of the
interface.

4 years agokill simcall_host_get_by_name: nobody uses it anyway
Martin Quinson [Wed, 15 Jul 2015 08:05:38 +0000 (10:05 +0200)]
kill simcall_host_get_by_name: nobody uses it anyway

4 years ago[SGpp] make SURF_CPU_LEVEL private
Martin Quinson [Wed, 15 Jul 2015 07:59:34 +0000 (09:59 +0200)]
[SGpp] make SURF_CPU_LEVEL private

4 years agokill unimplemented (braindead) prototype
Martin Quinson [Wed, 15 Jul 2015 00:59:47 +0000 (02:59 +0200)]
kill unimplemented (braindead) prototype

4 years ago[SGpp] make MSG_HOST_LEVEL private
Martin Quinson [Wed, 15 Jul 2015 00:57:44 +0000 (02:57 +0200)]
[SGpp] make MSG_HOST_LEVEL private

4 years agodamn, missing files
Martin Quinson [Tue, 14 Jul 2015 23:58:35 +0000 (01:58 +0200)]
damn, missing files

4 years agosanitize a bit the prototype of SIMIX_host_create()
Martin Quinson [Tue, 14 Jul 2015 23:58:09 +0000 (01:58 +0200)]
sanitize a bit the prototype of SIMIX_host_create()

4 years ago[SGpp] make SIMIX_HOST_LEVEL private
Martin Quinson [Tue, 14 Jul 2015 23:46:11 +0000 (01:46 +0200)]
[SGpp] make SIMIX_HOST_LEVEL private

4 years agoGive simgrid's host its own header file and datatype
Martin Quinson [Tue, 14 Jul 2015 21:25:33 +0000 (23:25 +0200)]
Give simgrid's host its own header file and datatype

This is one step further toward SGpp, the C++ version of SimGrid.

4 years ago[SURF] Cosmetics - indented assignments in surf_routing.cpp.
Christian Heinrich [Fri, 17 Jul 2015 17:10:57 +0000 (19:10 +0200)]
[SURF] Cosmetics - indented assignments in surf_routing.cpp.

4 years ago[Doc] Added Cluster description. Fixes #18
Christian Heinrich [Fri, 17 Jul 2015 17:10:21 +0000 (19:10 +0200)]
[Doc] Added Cluster description. Fixes #18

4 years ago[mc] Remove content addressable page store
Gabriel Corona [Fri, 17 Jul 2015 09:36:15 +0000 (11:36 +0200)]
[mc] Remove content addressable page store

- It did not prove useful compared fo the default option.
- It is implemented as a compile-time option instead of a runtime one.
- Let's remove compile time options!
- It makes the code more complex.

4 years ago[mc] Cleanup mc_hash
Gabriel Corona [Fri, 17 Jul 2015 09:30:40 +0000 (11:30 +0200)]
[mc] Cleanup mc_hash

4 years ago[doc] Add missing layers (MC, SIMIX, SIMDAG) in README.coding
Gabriel Corona [Fri, 17 Jul 2015 08:58:25 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
[doc] Add missing layers (MC, SIMIX, SIMDAG) in README.coding

4 years ago[doc] Various fixes to README.git
Gabriel Corona [Fri, 17 Jul 2015 08:52:41 +0000 (10:52 +0200)]
[doc] Various fixes to README.git

- Some typographic fixes.
- Remove reference to sourceforge.
- Some other minor modifications.

4 years ago[mc] Fix another signedness conversion issue with addresses on 32 bit
Gabriel Corona [Fri, 17 Jul 2015 08:21:39 +0000 (10:21 +0200)]
[mc] Fix another signedness conversion issue with addresses on 32 bit

4 years ago[mc] Remove useless cast
Gabriel Corona [Fri, 17 Jul 2015 07:35:51 +0000 (09:35 +0200)]
[mc] Remove useless cast

5 years ago[Doc] Changed stylesheet to make headings look better
Christian Heinrich [Thu, 16 Jul 2015 19:03:56 +0000 (21:03 +0200)]
[Doc] Changed stylesheet to make headings look better

5 years ago[Doc] Significant update to the storage documentation
Christian Heinrich [Thu, 16 Jul 2015 14:25:01 +0000 (16:25 +0200)]
[Doc] Significant update to the storage documentation

5 years ago[SURF] Cosmetics in surfxml_parse.c
Christian Heinrich [Thu, 16 Jul 2015 17:17:41 +0000 (19:17 +0200)]
[SURF] Cosmetics in surfxml_parse.c

5 years ago[mc] Fix cross process memory access in 32 bit
Gabriel Corona [Thu, 16 Jul 2015 14:37:31 +0000 (16:37 +0200)]
[mc] Fix cross process memory access in 32 bit

Sign extension issue when converting offset bewteen signed and unsigned.

5 years ago[mc] SimGrid 3.11 Chanelog/NEWS
Gabriel Corona [Thu, 16 Jul 2015 11:32:04 +0000 (13:32 +0200)]
[mc] SimGrid 3.11 Chanelog/NEWS

5 years agoprotect against MPI_BOTTOM
degomme [Fri, 10 Jul 2015 14:40:10 +0000 (16:40 +0200)]
protect against MPI_BOTTOM

5 years agoFix fortran mpi_type_struct and mpi_type_create_struct functions
degomme [Fri, 10 Jul 2015 13:32:53 +0000 (15:32 +0200)]
Fix fortran mpi_type_struct and mpi_type_create_struct functions

5 years agoRevert "A candidate patch to Github issue #15. Three problems related to TRACE might...
Martin Quinson [Tue, 14 Jul 2015 22:08:57 +0000 (00:08 +0200)]
Revert "A candidate patch to Github issue #15. Three problems related to TRACE might be corrected by this patch."

This reverts commit 58a9c67822f4640964044ec485426d090bcb123f.

5 years agoRevert "rename SIMIX_process_get_maxpid() to SIMIX_process_get_nextpid() and make...
Martin Quinson [Tue, 14 Jul 2015 22:08:32 +0000 (00:08 +0200)]
Revert "rename SIMIX_process_get_maxpid() to SIMIX_process_get_nextpid() and make it public"

This reverts commit 9306ddd4b063b1934dbab43f967e380d0181e393.

5 years agokill an unused definition
Martin Quinson [Tue, 14 Jul 2015 20:04:03 +0000 (22:04 +0200)]
kill an unused definition

5 years agorename SIMIX_process_get_maxpid() to SIMIX_process_get_nextpid() and make it public
Martin Quinson [Tue, 14 Jul 2015 20:02:33 +0000 (22:02 +0200)]
rename SIMIX_process_get_maxpid() to SIMIX_process_get_nextpid() and make it public

This ends the Fix #15 after the recent commit of @mpoquet. Thanks for
that again.

5 years agoMerge branch 'master' of github.com:mquinson/simgrid
Martin Quinson [Tue, 14 Jul 2015 19:55:18 +0000 (21:55 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' of github.com:mquinson/simgrid

5 years agoMerge pull request #17 from mpoquet/master
Martin Quinson [Tue, 14 Jul 2015 19:54:24 +0000 (21:54 +0200)]
Merge pull request #17 from mpoquet/master

Candidate patch to issue #15

5 years agokill two empty files
Martin Quinson [Sun, 12 Jul 2015 21:54:43 +0000 (23:54 +0200)]
kill two empty files

5 years agowho needs such an empty constructor?
Martin Quinson [Sun, 12 Jul 2015 21:54:27 +0000 (23:54 +0200)]
who needs such an empty constructor?

5 years agoless void*, new type: surf_host_t
Martin Quinson [Sun, 12 Jul 2015 21:30:05 +0000 (23:30 +0200)]
less void*, new type: surf_host_t

Plus some small cosmetics

5 years agoMerge branch 'master' of scm.gforge.inria.fr:/gitroot/simgrid/simgrid
Martin Quinson [Fri, 10 Jul 2015 23:58:18 +0000 (01:58 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' of scm.gforge.inria.fr:/gitroot/simgrid/simgrid

5 years agodo not output a user unfriendly line
Martin Quinson [Fri, 10 Jul 2015 23:55:25 +0000 (01:55 +0200)]
do not output a user unfriendly line

"Switching host model to compound since you changed the network and/or cpu model(s)"

- Hard to understand what's going on without reading the right part of
  the source.
- I cannot think of a situation where this would do any good

- My evil plan is to change the xbt_lib of all hosts by a boost map of
  Hosts, so the host model will be gone, and hosts will always
  dispatch to their content. One this is done, objectifying everything
  will be really easy.

5 years agoignore more cruft
Martin Quinson [Fri, 10 Jul 2015 23:40:24 +0000 (01:40 +0200)]
ignore more cruft

5 years agoMASSIVE cleanup: s/workstation/host/
Martin Quinson [Fri, 10 Jul 2015 23:36:01 +0000 (01:36 +0200)]
MASSIVE cleanup: s/workstation/host/

- simdag is not affected for now (it's a user interface, it will be
  rewamped soon)
- It means that the workstation/model option is changed into host/model

That's a really intrusive change, and I'm sorry for the ones having
unmerged branches (Sorry Christian, I thought of you when I was almost
done). But I feel that this is a good move for the project, important
to the objectification of the whole.

5 years agousing trace timestamp precision when printing to trace files
Lucas Schnorr [Fri, 10 Jul 2015 17:00:21 +0000 (14:00 -0300)]
using trace timestamp precision when printing to trace files

5 years agonew option to set trace timestamp precision
Lucas Schnorr [Fri, 10 Jul 2015 16:59:09 +0000 (13:59 -0300)]
new option to set trace timestamp precision

the number must be an integer, whose value is the
desired number of digits after the decimal point
for all timestamps registered when tracing

5 years ago[mc] Cleanup the DSO ignore list and add some entries
Gabriel Corona [Thu, 9 Jul 2015 13:52:48 +0000 (15:52 +0200)]
[mc] Cleanup the DSO ignore list and add some entries

5 years ago[mc] Fix the DSO debug ignore list
Gabriel Corona [Thu, 9 Jul 2015 12:44:58 +0000 (14:44 +0200)]
[mc] Fix the DSO debug ignore list

This is nasty. We must get rid of this.

5 years agoFix the cmake for the host-on-off tests
Gabriel Corona [Thu, 9 Jul 2015 11:40:12 +0000 (13:40 +0200)]
Fix the cmake for the host-on-off tests

Fix #7

5 years agoFix the host-on-off refcount test
Gabriel Corona [Thu, 9 Jul 2015 10:53:21 +0000 (12:53 +0200)]
Fix the host-on-off refcount test

5 years agohost-on-off: add basic tests
Gabriel Corona [Mon, 6 Jul 2015 14:21:17 +0000 (16:21 +0200)]
host-on-off: add basic tests

5 years ago[jenkins] Enable debug (Ã-g) in the builds
Gabriel Corona [Fri, 3 Jul 2015 12:41:09 +0000 (14:41 +0200)]
[jenkins] Enable debug (Ã-g) in the builds

5 years agoAdd the missing breaks
Gabriel Corona [Fri, 3 Jul 2015 12:28:25 +0000 (14:28 +0200)]
Add the missing breaks

5 years agoMove the host-on-off fix above
Gabriel Corona [Fri, 3 Jul 2015 11:36:53 +0000 (13:36 +0200)]
Move the host-on-off fix above

If our host is OFF, we should always get a HOST_FAILURE.

This seems to fix issues where a host was turned off but its processes
were not woken up with HOST_FAILURE.

5 years agoClean the possibly dangling waiting_synchro pointer
Gabriel Corona [Tue, 30 Jun 2015 11:36:49 +0000 (13:36 +0200)]
Clean the possibly dangling waiting_synchro pointer

5 years agoFix host-on-off
Gabriel Corona [Mon, 29 Jun 2015 11:08:51 +0000 (13:08 +0200)]
Fix host-on-off

This is a temporary workaround. This should probably be fixed at a
lower layer instead.

The test stil has a refcount handling bug (two +1 but only one -1).

5 years agoFix the documentation
Arnaud Legrand [Wed, 1 Jul 2015 19:01:54 +0000 (21:01 +0200)]
Fix the documentation